Fuzebox install - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 06-12-2011, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 727
Fuzebox install

Looking for a spot to install the Fuzebox for accessory power. It won't fit anywhere under the seat, so I found a spot on the right side under the fairing which houses the actuator for the panner locks.

There's a nice flat spot to use double sided tape and I was able to get a zip tie through the base plate.



Tapped switched power from the top box plug.



The one thing I had be careful of was the seat bumper to wire clearance. Here's a picture showing the wires routed around the bumper.


K1600GTL Silver - SOLD - Now F800GS
IBA # 42277
sfoster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 31 Old 06-12-2011, 09:20 PM
GM
Administrator
 
GM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,923
Looks good! I was doing some testing yesterday and was disappointed I couldn't fit it under the seat. In the location above, it does get wet. I found the inside of those covers covered in road dirt.

The switched power wire from the top case harness is the Red with black stripe.

Thanks for the pictorial!
GM is offline  
post #3 of 31 Old 06-13-2011, 02:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Keston, England
Posts: 76
Being really ignorant about electrical stuff, this might be a dumb question..

But why install a fuzebox and then take switched power from what might be a circuit designed for a lightbulb kind of load - I am guessing the topbox isn't designed for heavy duty power?

I would have thought the Canbus system would complain if you add a couple of things to your fuzebox.
chrisjk is offline  
post #4 of 31 Old 06-13-2011, 02:43 AM
Senior Member
 
cbdane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Livermore, CA
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisjk View Post
Being really ignorant about electrical stuff, this might be a dumb question..

But why install a fuzebox and then take switched power from what might be a circuit designed for a lightbulb kind of load - I am guessing the topbox isn't designed for heavy duty power?

I would have thought the Canbus system would complain if you add a couple of things to your fuzebox.
He's just using the light signal to close the contacts on a relay to provide switched power. The main power lead goes straight to the battery.

My question is how hard will it be to replace a fuse on the road if you need to?
cbdane is online now  
post #5 of 31 Old 06-13-2011, 04:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Keston, England
Posts: 76
Thanks - that certainly makes sense!
chrisjk is offline  
post #6 of 31 Old 06-13-2011, 09:07 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
sfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbdane View Post
My question is how hard will it be to replace a fuse on the road if you need to?
Three screws. Under the seat would have been the most accessible, but there is nowhere under the seat for it to fit. This was the second most accessible.

K1600GTL Silver - SOLD - Now F800GS
IBA # 42277
sfoster is offline  
post #7 of 31 Old 06-14-2011, 10:47 AM
GM
Administrator
 
GM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,923
If you don't use the cover for the Fuzebox, it will fit under the cross bar behind the battery. I tried it.
GM is offline  
post #8 of 31 Old 06-14-2011, 12:53 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 19
Sorry About the ignorance! But what is a "fuzebox" and what it's utility? Again sorry, but ....
namorado is offline  
post #9 of 31 Old 06-14-2011, 01:57 PM
Member
 
elizabethmuir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 50
elizabethmuir is offline  
post #10 of 31 Old 06-14-2011, 02:30 PM
GM
Administrator
 
GM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by namorado View Post
Sorry About the ignorance! But what is a "fuzebox" and what it's utility? Again sorry, but ....

It permits you to plug in all your electrical accessories without cutting into the bike's wiring harness and has a built in relay to shut power off when the power to the bike is turned off.
GM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome