TechSpec Pannier/Saddlebox Covers - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
» Forum Search

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2012, 04:45 PM   #1

Default TechSpec Pannier/Saddlebox Covers

I have now put almost 2000 miles on the TechSpec pannier covers and thought I should give my review of the product. First and foremost I will say I am not affiliated with TechSpec or have any stake in the company. I engaged them sometime ago about coming up with a solution for my bike as my panniers were looking rough from my boots, my wife's boots, and general abuse from throwing things over the back of the bike (I commute with my bike everyday).

I will start first with the company. I have been doing business with them for a few years now. They have what I feel the best looking tank protection around. They are both functional and aesthetically pleasing. I have used the tank protectors/grips on 3 different bikes now and am very satisfied with the product.

Customer support is at a very high level with the company. It is very easy to call them. A human picks up the phone and then special requests are directed straight to the general manager!

Now to the product. Again I needed a solution to safeguard from the daily abuses that the panniers receive. First of all I ride with my wife almost every weekend. At 5'4" she hits the bags pretty much every time she gets on. I personally ride my motorcycle daily and every now and then I will occasionally graze the bag with my boot as well. Since I commute I usually remove my gear and drape it across the seat and panniers while I am changing and swapping my briefcase with gear in the boxes so zippers and edges are bound to catch them as well. Here is a picture of what my bags started looking like (Keep in mind this is WITH the 3M clearguard in place!)