Newbie (sort of) from Fritch, Tx - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 10-23-2016, 07:29 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Newbie (sort of) from Fritch, Tx

Greetings from the far side all; I just signed up this morning. I thought I had signed up a few years ago when the 1600 first came out, but maybe that was another site. Although new here, I have been riding since 1968 when I started on a Honda 90. I eventually graduated up the scale to an R75/6 in 1977. Unfortunately, had to sell that one in 1980 after ~50K miles. It took nearly 20 years, but I got back in the saddle in April of 2000 and started making up for lost time. I now have a nice variety of older bikes in the stable and am seeking to learn more about the 1600; primarily to see if there is a reasonable and safe way to lower it. I have a 27" inseam, build my own seats, have lowered two RTs, a 1200C and an 1100S. I also have pretty good experience with being on the balls of my feet and realize there is no need to be flat-footed to enjoy a taller bike so long as I can feel relatively comfortable at stops. I'm nearing retirement and have been thinking a more luxurious ride might be in order. Looking forward to seeing what others have to share.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 10-23-2016, 08:36 AM
cdc

Garage
Welcome to the site. Lots of good 'biased' information here about a fantastic bike....

ⓒⓓⓒ - Camilo D. (kah-MEE-lo)

'13 K1600 GT - Apr. 5/13
'12 K1600 GT Gone Nov 16/12 - http://goo.gl/96Q6rZ
'06 FJR 1300AE Sold
'04 Suzuki SV650 Sold
'82 Suzuki 500GS Sold
'78 Yamaha SR500 Sold

post #3 of 18 Old 10-23-2016, 08:40 AM

Garage
Welcome, you picked the right bike to retire on.

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Albert Einstein

post #4 of 18 Old 10-23-2016, 08:57 AM Thread Starter

Garage