Hill start - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 28Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 62 Old 05-08-2018, 10:54 PM Thread Starter

Hill start

I have a new to me Hill Start assist on my 2014 K1600GTLE. The manual doesn't tell me how to use the hill start assist. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 62 Old 05-08-2018, 11:01 PM

Garage
I'm still learning the Hill Start on my used 2016 bike I bought earlier this year but so far this is what I've figured out. The bike needs to be at a complete stand still, pull the front brake lever all the way kind of squeezing it hard, see that the H shows on the dash when it's set.
To release it you can either just start moving by twisting the throttle normally but there will be a hard spot while first twisting it before the bike actually starts to move
The other way is to pull the front brake lever a second time and the H will disappear and the brakes will be released.
Again I think the main thing is that the bike is at a complete stop and the wheels aren't moving at all before the H will appear when pulling on the front brake lever.
RedCard and 03Camjob like this.

2016 Glacier Silver/matte blue vinyl wrap GTL
1975 Daytona Orange R90S
2008 Kawasaki KLR 650
IBA#9293 BMWRA#41092 BMWMOA#185857
2004 Red Corvette
2005 Jeep Rubicon Wrangler
post #3 of 62 Old 05-08-2018, 11:12 PM

Garage
The manual explains it. On my ‘15, you pull and then pull again the front brake lever. Yes, you have to be stopped. And it only lasts so long because it’s “not a parking break.” Then, let go of brakes and start normally until the power overtakes and releases the break. No intervention with brake lever required.

Justin / 2015 K1600GT
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 62 Old 05-09-2018, 04:31 AM

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6xGrins View Post