Solo Rider or With Someone? - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 48Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 07-16-2019, 07:51 PM Thread Starter

Solo Rider or With Someone?

My darling wife (a sociology professor by trade) and I were talking about bikes, bike trips and whether or not a wife/GF/BF/husband ride with you some of the time, all of the time or rarely/never.

Are you a solo rider who is glad he/she is? Or do you wish for companionship on the back seat?

My wife is currently in the "rarely" category, but is being won over by the K1600 passenger accommodations.

So the question is, do you fly solo or with a companion and how often?

If your SO doesn't ride with you ever and/or rarely, tell me why. Are they fearful? Hate bikes in general? Ride their own? Hate being with you?

In my case, I've had spouses who passenger'd and ones who rode their own bikes. Being generally acceptable to motorcycles has always been a criteria for me when dating.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 07-16-2019, 08:36 PM

Garage
My wife has ridden with me, but she's not a fan. And I think she liked the VTX better anyway. I didn't even bother with any passenger comfort mods on my new GT. Would be a waste of money.

She rides horses, hunters. I always tell her she would like her own ride. She has an electric two-wheel scooter she rides around the horse parks. But that's it. I used to mind it, but I don't anymore. What I once thought were lemons, I now look at as lemonade. She rides her horse on most weekends, and I ride mine. My shoulder and ribs are never sore when I go too fast. And my helmet is filled with sweet music instead of whines and moans.

The biggest drawback is that I don't do much touring. I don't want to spend my vacation time away on my own. At least not all of it anyway. We're going on a Mediterranean cruise this fall instead of a motorcycle cruise.

Wait! Did I say that was a drawback? See, lemons into lemonade.

John