BMW K1600GT Sport "Not Fit for Purpose" - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 87Likes
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 146 Old 08-14-2019, 05:35 AM Thread Starter

BMW K1600GT Sport "Not Fit for Purpose"

Sorry Mr BMW, but the K1600 is "Not Fit For Purpose" I can confirm this statement is 100% true.

The K16 is marketed as "Gran Turismo" or GT (meaning Grand Tourer). The problem is it can't tour. I downloaded the brochure for it today and there is a nice photo of the bike in the Dolomite's, Italy. I recognize the mountain range as I was there last week. Perhaps, I should explain a little more.

I have been riding K16's for 7 years, covering around 45,000 miles (so I know a bit about the bike). I have had 3 versions, a 2012GT, a 2015GT Sport and today I have a 2017GT Sport. I live in Northern Ireland and tour around Scotland, Wales and Ireland. I also do a European tour each year lasting 1-2 weeks. The bike is fine in the the UK and Ireland, but when you take it to Italy, France, Germany, Switzerland etc. it suffers with overheating.

Of three bikes I have owned the only one that dd not overheat was the 2015 bike, I put a Rad Guard on that one (perhaps you should recruit the people at Rad Guard into your R&D team), they had the wonderful idea of throwing away the solid lump of plastic (you insist is necessary) and replacing the your plastic radiator grill with a nice aluminium one.

I have never seen another bike with a solid lump of plastic covering a third of a radiator, who thought that one up?.

Just in case you are wondering, I fuss and clean around the radiator every time I wash it, I have been on my knees with my garden hose. The only thing left I can do is to pull off the radiator cover (and your solid lump of plastic) and attack the radiator directly with my garden hose. I am not prepared to go that far, why should I ?