Helite Turtle 2 - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 11-03-2019, 08:34 PM Thread Starter

Garage
Helite Turtle 2

Been riding for 30 years and recently decided to buy a Helite vest. Bought one from Revzilla and wore it today for a few hour ride on the coast. I'm 6'0", 260, and bought the XLL size. It fits great and I really didn't notice that I was wearing it. I attached the rip cord around the front seat anchor point and there's enough left of the pig tail to attach to the vest with a little bit of play in it.

So... if I've been riding for 30 years without a Helite, why now? Maybe it's an older and wiser thing, and that's probably part of it, but I like technology and I like the idea how it can improve my odds. I've read a few stories of folks that were wearing them when they had accidents and it sure sounds like they helped. I'd read that some folks said they were super hot and interfered with mesh jackets, yet I didn't really sense that it increased the temp. It was probably in the mid to high 60s today and it was just a vest. Maybe I'll feel differently when it's 100 degrees out. We'll see.

All the way throughout the ride I reminded myself to unhook myself from the tether when I got off the bike - sure enough, about 90 minutes into the ride I stopped for lunch and forgot to unhook the tether. I'm happy to say that I felt a slight tug and looked down and saw that I needed to unhook... lol. Glad it didn't inflate.

Didn't really think about getting good pictures of it - I'll find a friend the next time I'm out and get better pictures, but here it is on top of a First Gear 37.5 jacket:

And, of course, what post would be complete without a snap of my ride?

Bike has a Sergent seat and backrest, an RKA Shiloh, and - if you look close - a Spot device in the map case on the Shiloh.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 Old 11-03-2019, 08:53 PM

Garage