Engine Braking and/or Trail Braking? - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 09-28-2019, 06:12 PM Thread Starter

Engine Braking and/or Trail Braking?

I recently posted three videos, by Canyon Chasers, in a thread entitled "How & Why Delayed Apexes Work for Cornering." Trail braking was brought up in one of the vids and was, subsequently, discussed in the posts. I've intuitively used engine braking, for years, but as a self-taught rider (other than online instruction), am curious as to whether this is a substitute or a supplement to trail braking. Educate me, please.

Link to the "How & Why Delayed Apexes Work for Cornering" thread, mentioned above:
https://www.k1600forum.com/forum/bmw...cornering.html

2018 K1600 GT Mars Red Metallic
► There exists a group of people who believe that 2 > 4.
► "I drive way too fast to worry about cholesterol." — Steven Wright
► No government, constitution or law gives you any rights... breathing does.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 09-28-2019, 08:01 PM

After I smashed my second GT I only trail brake on the track. On the street I brake in the straight and power out of the curve.

Take a class. It will be the most rewarding two days of your life.

https://ridelikeachampion.com/champ-school/

or:

https://superbikeschool.com/

Rick
2012 K1600GT (smashed)
2015 K1600GT (went over a cliff)
2018 R1200GS

Last edited by Rick92040; 09-28-2019 at 08:07 PM.
post #3 of 29 Old 09-28-2019, 08:02 PM