Greetings from Canada - BMW K1600 Forum : BMW K1600 GT and GTL Forums
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-11-2019, 08:39 PM Thread Starter

Greetings from Canada

Heyas, greeting from Canada.

I've owned various motorcycles over the years, the last two being a Harley 2016 Ultra Limited and 2018 Road King Special. Neither of which are quite doing it for me.

Not going to bash Harley, but it seems you're more buying into a culture than anything else. While the 'spontaneous friends' are nice, it also leaves me longing for something more refined.

I'm a bigger guy, 6'1, 295lbs, so I'm looking for a bigger bike obviously.

I've pretty much narrowed down my list to a few bikes and the K1600's are at the top of my list.

I'm in the deep research phase before purchasing, so I came here looking to get as much detailed information as possible. I've had some experience with BMW motorcycles, and found a few 'quirks' that prevent it from being my solid top pick.

My first is the design of the hand controls, specifically the push button switch mechanisms. I've seen out of 5 bikes, 4 had one more more switch packs fail due to the epoxy lifting allowing water into the switches. This was a few years ago, and I'm told there was a recall for them, but not sure if it's been completely remedied.

The second is the lack of built in nav. The optional and expensive bolt on BMW branded Garmin GPS receiver, while offering more than the typical aftermarket GPS, looks more of an afterthought than being designed for the bike.

Anyway.. besides those two nitpicks, I'm trying to narrow down the list between the K1600B B/GA GT and GTL. Since I'm a solo rider, I'm leaning more toward the B and GT.. just not sure the real differences between them. It sounds like the GT has a high speed limiter and a different (good/bad?) rear end.

Regards.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-12-2019, 02:58 AM

Garage