BMW K1600 Forum banner

2022 Bren Tune Observations

9K views 44 replies 16 participants last post by  RedCard 
#1 · (Edited)
I thought I would record my observations of the Bren Tune on the 2022 version of the 1600 beastie. For those of you who give a hoot, or are just curious. I'm no expert, but I do like to tinker. While I was once elbow deep in a clutch replacement, my wife asked if I liked working on my bike better, or riding it.

For those who don't know, I've had a 2014 GTL and a 2018 GT before the 2022 B. I'm trying to think back, I honestly can't remember if I tuned the 2014. When I first test rode the 2018, I instantly felt something was amiss with the power. We all came to learn about the infamous throttle lag during those years. Dark times were they. The Bren Tune corrected the misgivings of the 2018 for sure, and that engine needed it.

Now for the 2022. I've had the big girl for a month or so now. I've got about 1200 miles on her. There is no throttle lag. And the torque and HP is more than sufficient. It's also the smoothest feeling of the otherwise smooth engine. I bet most 2022 owners won't feel the need for a tune. They'll be perfectly happy with this new version of the 1600, as they should be. There is no need to tune this engine.

I've done the first service, and I've added the Akra slip-on exhaust. I felt no difference with the Akra exhaust, and I didn't expect to. Their dyno charts show a miniscule increase in torque and HP. It must be too small for me to notice. (I bought the exhaust mostly to shed those chrome bazookas.)

Yesterday I applied the Bren Tune, and today was test day. First off, I expected no difference at all, just like with the exhaust. The first thing I noticed is the lack of high RPMs at startup. My cars do this as well. I read it's an emissions thing, to get the cats warmed up to operating temp quicker. Well, no more high RPM.