BMW K1600 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
At 6,500 miles the tires were shot so I decided to order and install some RS3s. The rear tire went smooth. (I am new to bmw). I was thrilled to see how easy it was to remove the rear tire from the bike. Super slick. Easy to break the bead and install new rubber on the rim. No issues or complaints. Then I moved to the front and realized that I need an inside out socket to remove the front axle. Hmmm. A little weird and I didn’t have any bmw tools yet. So I dug through my junk drawer and found a 22mm bolt and threaded a nut on and marred the end. Problem solved. Front tire went real smooth after that issue. 42psi on both. I tried the pinch bolt technique and I have a 500 mile ride to my nearest dealer for the service and ecu update. Got my bren in the mail today so I will get that up after the ecu update tomorrow. Then send it off for my new maps!

I’ll report back about the new tires and pinch bolt install to see if the left lean goes away.

Enjoy the ride!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,921 Posts
Bridgestones come in two variants, the GT has stiffer side walls for the weight of the bike so are considered harder to mount. Are RS3s similar ?

·
Premium Member
6,772 Posts
Maybe it's just early, please refresh my memory. What's a 'pinch bolt technique'?

Duane

·
Registered
59 Posts
Nice job on the tires. I've always shied away from doing them myself because of the balancing. What did you use for that?

·
Premium Member
307 Posts