BMW K1600 Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I am new to the bike and was excited that it had bike BT connection for the helmet to play the radio/XM and MP3s via the USB port. It worked well, for a few times, but I now come to expect it not to work and be more aggravation than it's worth. I thought the USB audio was going to be the best solution, but even that the audio "skips"...Has this always been the case or did BT outgrow the bike and made it incompatible/buggy? If it's always been this bad, why hasn't there been a recall or class-action lawsuit? Has BMW tried to fix the issue, if so, what is it?

At this point I have decided to forget the whole thing. I am now using the Nav VI to put all my music on a SD Card...I can still forward/back the songs via the wonder wheel, though it is more of a chore to do. The feature I was most excited about was the ability to easily switch songs without looking...I guess I still have that but the promise of a easy to use (and usable) media system is dead.

I just can't believe a big company like BMW can't figure this out...especially at this price point of these bikes. I think I would have bought this bike knowing this but it would have given me pause, or at least not be so disappointed. God I wish Honda would have replaced the ST1300 with a modern version, somewhere below the Goldwing, that competes in the same space as the BMW GT. I think BMW was smart making the same platform to compete in the Lux-Tourer and Lux-Sport Tour space. Again, I wish Honda got back in the game...the FJR/Concours were, for me, not contenders. A converted sport bike does not make a sport-tourer, IMO, they need to be purpose built. Good job on BMW for doing that.

If there is an actual FIX, please let me know!

Anyway...still loving the K bike...just disappointed in this one area.