BMW K1600 Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Photograph Fashion Jaw Organism Font

I did a ton of research trying to figure out where to add an amplifier to my bike and which speakers to use in an upgrade. There are a lot of opinions out there and the consensus seems to be that it can't be done without spending a ton of money on equipment and a highly skilled installer. I am not a trained installer by any means, but I do know my way around the tool box and I am what most would consider- VERY HANDY. I do most home improvement jobs myself. I work on my bike and cars myself, but I am not a mechanic, but I'm pretty sure I could make a living at it if I had to. That being said, I took a bunch of videos of the entire process and plan to splice them all together in a single video as soon as I get some extra time on my hands, but I figured in the mean time I could put together a slide of what I did and give you some basic information to get started if you want a HUGE improvement.

How good of an improvement? Can you even hear your radio at 65 mph? I couldn't, and it sounded like **** (translation: S.h_it) at 30 mph. How about now? You can hear me coming from more than a block away. I can hear my music in excess of 100 mph now. Nobody can believe that I am getting the volume output that I'm getting from 4" speakers! I was pretty mind blown the first time I turned it up. With the tunes cranked on my bike parked inside my garage with the door open, I can walk far down my alley which is lined with 8' board on board fences and still hear it clear as a bell! My buddy that just spent big bucks (more than $5K on a Rockford Fosgate system for his CVO Harley Ultra has 6" speakers in his bags, on his fairing, ad even on his lower fairing and can't believe I only have one set of 4" speakers! It really does sound incredible!