BMW K1600 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
I am a pensioner newbie and my ride is a 2013 K1600GTL. I need some technical advise. Firstly I made the silly mistake of connecting my non BMW battery charger to the right side auxiliary socket and when nothing happened I turned the ignition on and off repeatedly. Subsequently I have a warning for front and rear lights on the dash, all lights hooter and indicators non functional, what does happen if the ignition is turned on the lights hooter and indicators will work for a split second then they all become non funtional and the warning appears I also checked voltage at auxiliary socket and only get 1,7 volts. I have motorscan and checked for fault codes what I receive is the following faults Charging socket 800EA0 and GM Overvoltage 800FFE these codes are erased but reappear when ingnition is cycled so my question is does this mean that the Basic module needs to be replaced or is there a reset of some type and if the Basic module is replaced does it require programming. I did ask Wladimir from motorscan what the codes meant and his response was that if there is a problem first solve it and the codes will clear. So i am asking for some guidance in solving the problem.

·
Premium Member
1,001 Posts
Before I did anything else, I would recommend disconnecting the battery for a bit (10 minutes or so), reconnect and retest. There are clamping circuits I am sure: this may be your problem.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the help actually had the battery out for 2 weeks and made no difference, all the symptoms remained the same.

·
Premium Member
2,078 Posts
fault codes what I receive is the following faults Charging socket 800EA0 and GM Overvoltage 800FFE these codes are erased but reappear when ingnition is cycled
Wladimir is correct. Clearing the codes does not repair the root cause.

According to BMW Fault Code Lookup - BMWFaultCodes, 800EA0 means: