BMW K1600 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
2,022 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding a street bike since 1985, bunches of different styles and sizes and although my back and wrists have taken a beating from some bikes, I've never had numbness down my arm.
Bought my K16GT last October, been riding it pretty hard both 1 and 2 up but notice after @ 45 minutes, my right arm gets tingly and feels like it's "going to sleep". I didn't think much of it until the first long ride back in May, put 1500 miles on it over a weekend. My right arm was a wreck.
Moving my neck around, I can duplicate the numbness. If I tip my head back and lean it to the right, it happens every time. I went to my back doctor and she immediately knew what was up. There is a narrowing of the opening where the nerve bundle passes through my neck, called the facet joint. I had a epidural injection in my neck which did nothing to ease the pain and now I'm doing physical therapy.
The PT doc thinks that if he can get the joint to open a bit and then I get a facet joint injection, the nerve bundle will shrink a bit and the pain will go away.

So, back to the bike......Until this happened, I didn't realize that while sitting on the K16GT, I'm actually looking slightly up while riding and I didn't do that on any other bike including my K12GT and K100RS.

Anyone else have different pains and aches from the K16?

Reactions: Geoff_3

·
Mr.Fix It
6,890 Posts
Yes, at times, excruciating pain between shoulder blades. I tried PT, no joy. I've learned to live with it. Took a long trip last month (7200 miles) and it wasn't as noticeable.

Duane

·
Premium Member
1,794 Posts