BMW K1600 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Just picked up my 2012 GT in NC and rode it down to my home in Key West, Florida a week ago. If anyone here has been to South Florida, more specifically the Keys, you’ll know that the warm humid salt air destroys everything! Now, when one buys a new car or truck, it can be treated to limit/slow the oxidation, but with the purchase of a used bike, I’m curious what my options are to keep the oxidation at bay? I spray my other vehicles down with something called Salt Away, it’s a solvent used mostly for marine application, and wonder if that’s okay on the bike? I don’t want to beat a dead horse here so I’ll leave it at that. I’m listening.

·
Premium Member
1,598 Posts
Congrats on the new to you K and welcome to the forum. I live in the middle of the middle of the flat lands...so I have no experience to share with salt air. Best to ya.

·
Premium Member
386 Posts
I've seen the chrome on bikes literally destroyed by salt air. The only suggestion I can give you is keep it clean and put a good layer of wax on everything and try to store it at night in an enclosed garage or shed.

Good Luck with the new bike.

·
Premium Member
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
J-Luv and svfiat, thanks for the responses and well wishes.
I’d love to have a garage down here to store it, unfortunately that’s not an option as very few homes have them. I have Dyna as well, that I’d kept covered with a HD brand cover and I felt like maybe the moisture was trapped more because of it so I stopped. I’ve been going out in the morning and wiping it down hoping that it’ll delay the inevitable. The wax is a great idea, any recommendations?

·
Registered
670 Posts
Wash it frequently and inspect. Fortunately it would take a very long time to destroy the structural frame. I believe the backbone is magnesium. Touch-up any bare metal areas as necessary. Enjoy the ride as best as you can in the Keys.

·
Registered