BMW K1600 Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Enter your bike HERE to be a part of this months Bike of the Month Challenge!
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evaluating transition from Goldwing to K1600. Test rode a 2013 GTL this morning noticing a strong smell of gasoline while sitting at stop lights. Yuk. Is this an easy fix, or does it belie a more serious issue? Techies, help!

·
Registered
2,294 Posts
I'm not a techie, but I can say with total certainty it's not normal. I have zero smells emitting from my 2018 GTL.

The last time I smelled gas was on my previous K1200LT. There was a line that had a minor leak. Replacement fixed all issues. So it could be an easy fix, or something more serious. I'd get a full mechanical check before considering that bike. Actually, I'd have any used bike without remaining warranty thoroughly checked out. Repairs can be extremely expensive.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm not a techie, but I can say with total certainty it's not normal. I have zero smells emitting from my 2018 GTL.

The last time I smelled gas was on my previous K1200LT. There was a line that had a minor leak. Replacement fixed all issues. So it could be an easy fix, or something more serious. I'd get a full mechanical check before considering that bike. Actually, I'd have any used bike without remaining warranty thoroughly checked out. Repairs can be extremely expensive.
Great advice. I am noticing a radical difference in maintenance among used bikes, especially those outside warranty. :cool:

·
Mr.Fix It
9,050 Posts
If you do your own maintenance cost is comparable; save for tires. The K bike tire mileage ranges from 4,500 to 9,000 miles per set.

Duane

Reactions: TarkusNY

·
Registered
137 Posts